Read It!


The ALSC media awards below are announced every January at a Monday morning press conference that takes place during the American Library Association Midwinter Meeting.

  • (John) Newbery Medal
    The Newbery Medal honors the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.(Randolph) Caldecott Medal
    The Caldecott Medal honors the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.(May Hill) Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award
    The Arbuthnot award honors an author, critic, librarian, historian, or teacher of children’s literature, of any country, who then presents a lecture at a winning host site.

    (Mildred L.) Batchelder Award
    The Batchelder Award is given to an American publisher for a children’s book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States.

    (Pura) Belpré Medal
    The Belpré Medal honors a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose works best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

    (Andrew) Carnegie Medal
    The Carnegie Medal honors the producer of the most outstanding video production for children released during the preceding year.

    (Theodor Seuss) Geisel Medal
    The Theodor Seuss Geisel Medal honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.

    (ALSC/Booklist/YALSA) Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production
    The Odyssey Award will be awarded annually to the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.

    (Robert F.) Sibert Informational Book Medal
    The Sibert Medal honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published during the preceding year.

    (Laura Ingalls) Wilder Award
    The Wilder Medal honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.