Octavofest Programming

Join us in celebrating our region’s active arts community of book and paper innovators and our magnificent library and museum collections of fine and rare books. Learn from artists and book lovers about Northeast Ohio’s rich resources and the exciting world of contemporary book and paper arts. All programs are free and open to the public. Visit octavofest.org for more information.

 

Octavofest Bookmaking Workshops

Celebrate Octavofest by making your own handmade book.

Tuesday, October 4 • 4:30 p.m. • Hough Branch
Thursday, October 6 • 4:00 p.m. • Langston Hughes Branch
Tuesday, October 11 • 3:30 p.m. • Lorain Branch
Thursday, October 13 • 3:00 p.m. • Collinwood Branch
Tuesday, October 18 • 4:00 p.m. • Jefferson Branch
Thursday, October 20 • 2:00 p.m. • Carnegie West Branch
Tuesday, October 25 • 4:30 p.m. • Brooklyn Branch
Thursday, October 27 • 4:00 p.m. • Woodland Branch

 

Making of a Book: Paper Making

Learn how paper is made as the first step toward making a book.

Saturday, October 1 • 2:00 p.m. • Main Library, 4th floor Art Lab, Room 458

 

Little Free Library Paper Arts Party

Make bookmarks, mini-books, thank-you notes and note cards to leave in the little libraries.

Monday, October 3 • 3:30 p.m. • Sterling Branch
“Monday, October 24 • 4:00 p.m. • Jefferson Branch

 

Producing History: The Cleveland Play House Founders and their Scrapbooks

Enjoy a unique glimpse into the early history of the Cleveland Play House, drawn from 108 scrapbooks kept by the Women’s Committee of the Board of Trustees.

Saturday, October 8 • 1:00 p.m. Main Library, Treasure Room, 3rd floor

 

Making of a Book: Paper Marbling

Learn how to dye and marble paper, then make your own decorative paper to take home.

Saturday, October 8 • 2:00 p.m. • Main Library, 4th floor Art Lab, Room 458

 

Making of a Book: Letter Press

Learn how books were printed before computers were created and then, print your own message using these techniques.

Saturday, October 15 • 2:00 p.m. Main Library, 4th floor Art Lab, Room 458

 

Making of a Book: Bookbinding

Learn how books are stitched together and then, create your own stitched book.

Saturday, October 22 • 2:00 p.m. • Main Library, 4th floor Art Lab, Room 458