Search in:

    Collection Highlights

    Blog Posts

    Sep 9

    Written by: adawson 9/9/2013 3:00 PM 

    Thursday, September 12th is the 78th annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Award ceremony. The winners of the this year's prestigious international literary award are Kind One (Fiction) by Laird Hunt, The Yellow Birds (Fiction) by Kevin Powers, My Favorite Warlord (Poetry) by Eugene Gloria, Far From the Tree (Nonfiction) by Andrew Solomon and the Lifetime Achievement award goes to Wole Soyinka.

    The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards recognizes books that examine and address issues of racism and have an impact on expanding our cultural awareness and appreciation for diversity.  The Cleveland Public Library's Special Collections Department houses a copy of every Anisfield-Wolf Award winner from the first award in 1936 through today's most recent winners. The library's subject departments also have circulating copies of the award winners.

    For more information on the history of the award read Jacqueline Marino's article The Biggest Little-Known Book Award in the Fall edition of the online literary magazine BELT.