Search in:

    Collection Highlights

    Blog Posts

    Sep 9

    Written by: adawson 9/9/2010 3:44 PM 

    The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards recognizes books that examine and address issues of racism and have an impact on expanding our cultural awareness and appreciation for diversity.  The Cleveland Public Library's Special Collections Department houses a copy of every Anisfield-Wolf Award winner from the first award in 1936 through today's most recent winners. The library's subject departments also have circulating copies of the award winners. The 2010 award winners are being presented at a reception at Severance Hall on September 14, 2010.  This year’s book winner is Burnt Shadows by Kamila Shamsie. Elizabeth Alexander is receiving the Lifetime Achievement in Poetry award, William Julius Wilson is receiving the Lifetime Achievement in Nonfiction award, and Oprah Winfrey is receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award.  Consult the online catalog or call the Cleveland Public Library to reserve a copy of any of these prestigious titles.